Reviews

Jenny

July 2021

The training was absolutely superb and I genuinely enjoyed each and every moment. The class was extremely informative and I appreciated that you made it fun! Thank you for your wisdom and I look forward to taking future classes.

 

Aaron

June 2021

What a truly breathtaking (literally, the heat was awesome) experience from stoking/working the forge to shaping and finishing the knife. Was completely surprised by the trust and willingness to learn through clear observation and patient leadership. Mike presents the opportunity to become a blacksmith for a brief time and truly feel the heat of the forge. Creating your own knife with your hands is a thrilling and powerful experience. For anyone traveling and exploring this is a must. Mike is trusting, careful, kind, funny and most of all willing to give you the skills to do magic with metal. My recommendation for this experience can go no higher than the hoghest marks.

 

 

Carie

June 2021

My 16 yr old son forged a railroad spike knife with Mike today. It was an amazing experience for him and was very interesting for me to watch. Mike is a wonderful teacher with the uncanny ability to discern the right experience and level of complexity for his patrons. He’s flexible to be super hands on, more hands off, or do give ideas for something with a unique touch. Mike was patient, encouraging and entertaining to work with. I highly recommend this one of a kind experience for anyone!!

 

 

Jane

May 2021

Mike was very informative on this skill. Made you feel at ease. Extremely patient. Great experience. Can not say enough good about this experience.

 

 

Rob

April 2021

Had a great time making a knife with Mike. Highly recommend this experience. Didn’t realize how much it takes to forge items...new respect for all those people on forged in fire! This is definitely worth your time and money.

 

 

Sarah

April 2021

Took my boyfriend to make a railroad spike knife for his birthday. Mike was amazing and let’s you do almost all of the work only stepping in to push you in the right direction when you’re struggling. The knife turned out so good everyone that has seen it has a hard time believing that he made it! Was an all over amazing experience!

 

 

Amanda

March 2021

Highly recommended! My son and I had a wonderful time! Mike was very patient with us and had great stories to tell. We learned a ton. We would love to go back!

 

 

Patricia

July 2021

Mike was a fantastic teacher and went above and beyond throughout the entire experience.

 

 

Christina

June 2021

My husband said this was a experience. Mike is a great guy and he really enjoyed making his railroad spike knife.

 

 

Tony

June 2021

Highlight of our trip.

 

 

Aaron

June 2021

Awesome experience with a great teacher. Would definitely do it again.

 

Brittany

June 2021

Awesome experience making my first actual useful knife. Mike is a hell of a teacher and would 100% do it again. 10/10 highly recommended.

 

Joanna

June 2021

This was an great experience. It was exactly what I expected. Mike showed me how to form and shape a steel blade, attach handles, and create a sheathe. Took a little longer than expected but Mike was nice enough to work with me the whole process through. A definite recommendation.

 

Tara

June 2021

You won't leave here with a POS knife. Amazing experience and I left with a gorgeous piece. He explains everything and guides you through the entire experience. Very cool. Well worth the price for what you get.

 

Kathleen

May 2021

Mike has an amazing forge and really knows how to communicate with complete newbies. He made me feel safe and still let me have fun!

 

Chuck

May 2021

Mike was amazing in every aspect. He is a patient and thorough host. Making sure that you leave 100% satisfied with your work. He allows you to create while providing guidance when needed. I would definitely return!

 

Lindi

March 2021

We had an amazing time in the Create a Knife class with Mike. First of all Mike is super funny and makes you feel very comfortable. He is a great instructor. The knife we made is awesome, the information I learned was great, his stories were fun, and we even got to make a sheath for our knives! We will definitely be back for more classes. Had a great time.

 

Response from Mike

March 2021

Thank you Lindi for the awesome review. I enjoyed having you and Ethan. Would love to have you back for another project. Thank you again.
Mike

 

Lea

March 2021

I brought my 14 year old here to make a knife for his birthday. the experiences was better than I could have imagined! Mike was such a good teacher and was so helpful and patient with my son while also giving him a good amount of independence! I am now ready to bring back the rest of the family to each do their own projects. Definitely recommend!

 

Teusdae

January 2020

Such a wonderful experience!! My husband has been really obsessed with makers, especially knife makers and for him to be able to make him own knife from start to finish (sheath included) was a once in a lifetime experience for him! We will tell all of our friends and hope to come back!

 

Carrie

July 2021

Highly recommend the experience. Great host and helped elevate my forging skills. Would not hesitate to do it again.

 

Beth

June 2021

What a great experience. Mike spent so much time making sure I made the knife I wanted. I highly recommend this experience!

 

Kandi

June 2021

I didn’t know what I didn’t know!

 

Lindsey

May 2021

I gifted this to my favorite knife enthusiast and he LOVED and has not stopped talking about it since we left.

 

Dennis

July 2021

I had the Learn to Forge experience with Mike at Leprechaun Lair Forge on a Friday morning. Mike is a skilled and patient instructor who made me immediatly feel at home. It was like meeting a friend for a lesson in the basics of a coal fired forge. We used making a decorative wall hook as the teaching project. It turns out I actually needed a hook like that for my motorcoach! Mike explained each step before we did it and had me perform each part. He steped in and assisted me when if had any difficulity with a step but always encouraged me to do the work if I could.

Mike strives for doing things right and not taking shortcuts to save time. I highly recommend his classes for simple items thru custom projects.

 

Libby

July 2021

Mike was extremely knowledgeable in the blacksmith trade and a patient instructor. We made an awesome hook and learned so much about the blacksmith trade. Thanks Mike for a interesting & fun experience

 

Katherine

June 2021

It was our first time forging and I’m not sure we completely knew what to expect. Mike thoroughly explained every part of the process, allowed us to take extra time for the parts that felt not quite right to us yet, and was kind and fun throughout. It was a great time and I can’t recommend this experience enough!

 

Jason

June 2021

What fun! Mike was a great teacher. Very patient with a variety of skill levels and intent on making sure we could all walk away with a piece we could be proud of. A very hands-on experience!

 

Gilbert

June 2021

Looking for a once in a lifetime experience? Try out these workshops in forging with Mike! Complete hands on....You make the project! Life is short....try something new & exciting!

 

Cassandra

June 2021

Mike gave us a one-of-a-kind experience that we will never forget. Not only did we create a beautiful piece together, but the property and hospitality also far exceeded our expectations. Definite recommend!

 

Esther

April 2021

Mike is a very laid-back, accommodating, and patient teacher, and forging is just so fun! I don’t have the most upper body strength in the world (I work two jobs and both mostly involve sitting at a desk) but if the metal is hot enough, strength isn’t so important. You have to be willing to get a bit dirty (we were covered in soot when we left!) but if you are like me, that is a bonus! If you’ve ever though forging looked interesting this is the perfect way to try it! If you just want a fun and unusual date, it can be pretty great for that as well, with the right partner!

 

Ryan

February 2020

A unique and fun experience. You can either enjoy it for a one-off good time or pick up helpful skills for taking up the trade.

 

Dana

January 2020

Had a great time learning to forge with Mike! He’s very knowledgeable, makes you feel comfortable and tells some great stories! Very cool experience!

 

Melvin

January 2020

What a great experience! I took my two teenage boys and got to be involved in doing something with them that not everyone get to do.
Mike was a wonderful host. He did a great job describing the steps, demonstrating and made you feel at ease. I will definitely be recommending Mike to other people for this experience.

 

Melissa

January 2020

This was such a fun afternoon - my husband and I truly enjoyed this unique experience, and definitely recommend this activity!! Mike is very personable, easy-going, and accommodating. We enjoyed chatting with Mike about his other forging projects and experience. He was so patient and provided clear instructions as he walked us through each step and technique while we did the work creating our hooks, making us first-time forgers feel at ease. Thanks Mike!

 

Jeanne

October 2019

When "learn to forge" popped up on my air bnb list of activities during a recent weekend get away trip, I figured I couldn't let this once in a lifetime opportunity go. Mike was a very welcoming host and an excellent teacher in what is a bit of a daunting undertaking for a newbie. He regaled us with stories of his experiences and was very engaging and genuine in learning about us. Safety was always paramount and we all had a good time. Cannot recommend Leperechaun Lair Forge and Mike's teaching enough. Check them out!!

 

Susan

October 2019

This was a really wonderful experience. We had no idea what to expect, but were ready for a new adventure, and forging was certainly new to both of us. Mike was professional, friendly, knowledgeable, and oh-so helpful. He allowed us to make our own piece of art, but guided us when necessary. He inspired confidence and worked individually with each of our skill sets. He was generous with relating personal stories, as well as teaching us forging techniques, and we had an unforgettable experience. I highly recommend it to anyone who likes to create!

 

Response from Mike

October 2019

Such a kind thoughtful review. Thank you so very much. I'm glad you enjoyed yourselves so much. It was my pleasure. You can post on my (Hidden by Airbnb) page leprechaunlair… read more

 

Stephanie

October 2019

A great way to spend the afternoon! Mike is a great guy and a patient, hands-on guide to the world of metal forging. Fun activity for couples!

 

Response from Mike

October 2019

Thank you Stephanie. I'm glad you and David enjoyed yourselves. It was a pleasure having you.
Mike

 

Cristina

August 2019

Learned to forge at Leprechaun Lair in Shelby. Amazing host and awesome workshop. Already want to go back and make something else! Highly recommend this place. Very personable and experienced teacher.

 

Response from Mike

August 2019

Thank you Cristina, it was a pleasure having you and your group. Would love to have you back.

 

Carola

August 2019

OMG, everyone who travels to Western Michigan and has an interest in making things should visit Mike's forge shop. This was one of the top highlights of our trip and I hope to come back! You learn various forging techniques and take home a beautiful masterpiece! My 15 year-old nephew and husband very much enjoyed this experience. Thanks Mike!

 

Dennis

August 2019

Very knowledgeable and very patient. Time was not a concern for Mike ( good & bad ) and he let his students do the actual project rather than take over. Somewhat disorganized but always respectful and courteous.

 

Lindy

August 2019

My husband and I have watched Forged in Fire on TV for a few years and could not believe it when this opportunity popped up on our AirBNB registration. We did not really know what to expect but we learned more than we could have imagined. Mike was very personable and knowledgeable. He made sure we did the work ourselves so that we could get the feel for using a forge, anvil, and other tools of the trade. Everything was authentic and we both had an experience we will never forget. In the end we made something we are proud of out of steel and also made a new friend!

 

Brandon

August 2019

This. Is. Awesome. Step son and I got to spend time learning to forge with Mike. Great day, and Mike is very passionate about his work. Even better - he goes out of his way to make sure your time is enjoyable. Highly recommend this activity when in the area!

 

Audrey

July 2019

Learning to forge with Mike was an exceptional, one-of-a-kind experience. Mike was friendly, extra hospitable, and very informative as he guided me through forging a coat hook from mild steel. It was no stress, hands-on learning with excellent guidance. I will definitely be returning soon to work on another project. As an aside, Mike's place is great too. My wife sat by his pond alongside his berry fields and really enjoyed herself. If you think you can take the heat of the forge, book an experience with Mike. --Jason

 

Response from Mike

July 2019

Thank you for the great review. You and Audrey were a pleasure to meet. You did an awesome job in the forge. I would love to have you back for another project. Thank you for making a great day at the forge.

 

Katrina

July 2019

My husband and I traveled 3 hours and booked special lodging so we could participate with this experience. Without a doubt WORTH EVERY PENNY! It wasn’t a ‘class’, it was ’one-on-one’ guidance through the basics of forging till we could create our own unique piece of art. Set off in the country, in a picturesque wooden shop sits Leprechaun Lair Forge. I only wish we lived closer because I am sure there are many other lessons Mike could teach us and more amazing creations we could conceive. You start with a hunk of metal and in the end, you have one of a kind, hand crafted art. Thank you so much for welcoming us into your forge, Mike. We will treasure this experience and the time we spent learning from you.

 

Response from Mike

July 2019

Thank you so much. I'm thrilled that you and Elijah had such a good experience at the forge. It's meeting people like you that makes this so rewarding and fulfilling for me.. Best of wishes to you both.

 

Craig

May 2021

Mike was awesome, great with kids, knowledgeable, lots of cool stories. I would recommend this experience to anyone!!!!!

 

Megan

May 2021

Amazing experience!

 

Christa

April 2021

Definitely worth the experience

 

Paul

April 2021

Great experience and the owner is down to earth!

 

Larry

October 2019

This was awesome. We had such a good time that we will be back

 

Patricia

October 2019

This experience was freaking awesome!!!!! It was so much fun. I definitely recommend and will be telling all my friends.

 

Response from Mike

October 2019

Thank you so much. It was fun having you and your hussband as gurests. Hope to lsee you again. Mike

 

Susan

September 2019

Wonderful, unique experience

 

Erin

September 2019

Great experience at leprechaun lair forge! Mike was extremely knowledgeable. He allowed us to do the work with excellent instructions. Highly recommend!

 

Response from Mike

September 2019

Thank you for the kind words. It was a pleasure having you and Michelle. I had a great time as well.. I'm glad to know you enjoyed your time here.

 

Donny

September 2019

Great experience with Mike! Highly recommend.

 

Response from Mike

September 2019

Thank you Donny & Samantha. Congratulations again. It was a pleasure having you!

Aaron Gray

January 6, 2021

I really loved my experience here. I made a pair of tongs to help me get started in my own forge. I also learned a lot about forging. I am very grateful for all the help I got from LLF

Nick Biggs

January 2, 2021

Mike does an excellent job teaching you about knife making and really lets you make it your knife by doing almost all the learning and hands on experience yourself. Highly recommend checking out his classes.

Jay Baker

October 8, 2020

I had a great time working with Mike. I learned some basic metal working skills, which has made me more interested in blacksmithing. I look forward to returning to work on some other projects. The property where Mike's forge is located is a picturesque bit of nature, which was enjoyable as well.

Br Morrison

At the end of the rainbow there is the Leprechaun Lair Forge. Mike offers a complete forging experience that fits all skill levels. From start to finish Mike is a true professional that exhibits the patience needed to guide folks through the whole knife making process. Contact Mike and make that reservation. The pot of gold at the end is a knife that you truly call you own.

Megan Johnson

If you want a full on forge experience this is your place! Nestled back in the quiet woods of Shelby Mikes forge is a home away from home. We took our Saturday to create our own knife and sheath through Mikes directives. Be ready for a full on immersion experience because he wants to make sure this knife you make is YOUR creation and what a honor it was. 10/10 would recommend this to anyone looking for a unique experience and learn some cool skills along the way.

Terrance Finney

Mike is an amazing teacher. Under his instruction I was able to make a beautiful Damascus knife with ebony handle. From billet to finished knife and sheath is an experience I'll never forget, and keep going back for. If you want to know if blacksmithing is right for you, the LLForge is the best place in Michigan to find out.

Kat Jennings

November 22,2020

My friends and I spent the day with Mike the owner, we each made a knife and are so pleased with the results. Mike is a great instructor, but I would caution you must be a good student since you are working with heavy, sharp, and hot equipment. This was a wonderful experience and I would recommend it to everyone!

Larry

October 24, 2019

This was awesome. We had such a good time that we will be back

 

Jeanne

October 19, 2019

When "learn to forge" popped up on my air bnb list of activities during a recent weekend get away trip, I figured I couldn't let this once in a lifetime opportunity go. Mike was a very welcoming host and an excellent teacher in what is a bit of a daunting undertaking for a newbie. He regaled us with stories of his experiences and was very engaging and genuine in learning about us. Safety was always paramount and we all had a good time. Cannot recommend Leperechaun Lair Forge and Mike's teaching enough.  Check him out!

 

Susan

October 18, 2019

This was a really wonderful experience. We had no idea what to expect, but were ready for a new adventure, and forging was certainly new to both of us. Mike was professional, friendly, knowledgeable, and oh-so helpful. He allowed us to make our own piece of art, but guided us when necessary. He inspired confidence and worked individually with each of our skill sets. He was generous with relating personal stories, as well as teaching us forging techniques, and we had an unforgettable experience. I highly recommend it to anyone who likes to create!

 

Patricia, Westland, MI. 

October 19, 2019

This experience was freaking awesome!!!!! It was so much fun. I definitely recommend and will be telling all my friends.

Private Feedback: Thank you for showing us a great time and being so friendly. We are definitely coming back.

October 2019

Mike was an exceptional host. He was very responsive to our request for an additional blanket. The RV was comfortable and filled our needs nicely

Marilyn, Parma, OH

Susan

September 22, 2019

Wonderful, unique experience

Randy, Coleman, MI

September 2019

This was a nice place to stay for our overnight trip. It had everything we needed, is pet friendly, and is one of the places we found that doesn't charge a bunch of fees on top of the listed price. Overall it was a great deal.

Sandra, Livonia, MI

September 2019

The place was comfy and good local places to eat. Beautiful, rural location - just wished we had no rain to enjoy the pond and hammock more.

Erin

September 9, 2019

Great experience at leprechaun lair forge! Mike was extremely knowledgeable. He allowed us to do the work with excellent instructions. Highly recommend

Donny

September 3, 2019

Great experience with Mike! Highly recommend.

 

Cristina

August 28, 2019

Learned to forge at Leprechaun Lair in Shelby. Amazing host and awesome workshop. Already want to go back and make something else! Highly recommend this place. Very personable and experienced teacher.

Carola

August 23, 2019

OMG, everyone who travels to Western Michigan and has an interest in making things should visit Mike's forge shop. This was one of the top highlights of our trip and I hope to come back! You learn various forging techniques and take home a beautiful masterpiece! My 15 year-old nephew and husband very much enjoyed this experience. Thanks Mike!

Dennis

August 17, 2019

Very knowledgeable and very patient. Time was not a concern for Mike ( good & bad ) and he let his students do the actual project rather than take over. Somewhat disorganized but always respectful and courteous.

Lindy

August 16, 2019

My husband and I have watched Forged in Fire on TV for a few years and could not believe it when this opportunity popped up on our AirBNB registration. We did not really know what to expect but we learned more than we could have imagined. Mike was very personable and knowledgeable. He made sure we did the work ourselves so that we could get the feel for using a forge, anvil, and other tools of the trade. Everything was authentic and we both had an experience we will never forget. In the end we made something we are proud of out of steel and also made a new friend!

Joseph

August 12, 2019

The property where the RV is located is stunning. Lots of humming birds, greenery, and even some bunnies. The RV itself had all the amenities of a house, just smaller. Mike was very helpful and welcoming. I would recommend this for either a single person or a couple of people due to size. But there are enough sleeping arrangements to accommodate 5-6 people. Will hopefully come back again in 

Donna

August 4, 2019

Though named the Leprechaun Lodge, the trailer is clean and spacious. Sitting in the swing next to the bubbling fountain of the pond is relaxing. The host has taken great care to provide pleasant accommodations. Highly recommended.

Faith

August 3, 2019

This is an amazing place to stay. Great location to Silver Lake Sand Dunes, not to far away. This property is beautiful and was willingly shared with us. Great hospitality! We will be returning at some point to stay again and experience the Forge opportunity here.

Private Feedback: We had an amazing time, thank you for your hospitality and being so welcoming! You have an amazing property, thanks for sharing it with us!

Brandon

August 2, 2019

This. Is. Awesome. Step son and I got to spend time learning to forge with Mike. Great day, and Mike is very passionate about his work. Even better - he goes out of his way to make sure your time is enjoyable. Highly recommend this activity when in the area!

Private Feedback: The experience did drag on a bit. For the sake of the event, and Mike's time, perhaps the time allotted could have been adhered to a bit more aggressively. Still a wonderful experience, however.

Audrey

July 19, 2019

Learning to forge with Mike was an exceptional, one-of-a-kind experience. Mike was friendly, extra hospitable, and very informative as he guided me through forging a coat hook from mild steel. It was no stress, hands-on learning with excellent guidance. I will definitely be returning soon to work on another project. As an aside, Mike's place is great too. My wife sat by his pond alongside his berry fields and really enjoyed herself. If you think you can take the heat of the forge, book an experience with Mike. --Jason

Katrina

July 11, 2019

My husband and I traveled 3 hours and booked special lodging so we could participate with this experience. Without a doubt WORTH EVERY PENNY! It wasn’t a ‘class’, it was ’one-on-one’ guidance through the basics of forging till we could create our own unique piece of art. Set off in the country, in a picturesque wooden shop sits Leprechaun Lair Forge. I only wish we lived closer because I am sure there are many other lessons Mike could teach us and more amazing creations we could conceive. You start with a hunk of metal and in the end, you have one of a kind, hand crafted art. Thank you so much for welcoming us into your forge, Mike. We will treasure this experience and the time we spent learning from you.